Work Experience – Pinewood

Two weekends ago on Saturday my friend Molly and I went to an open day at Pinewood Studios as we were interested in the makeup course in Iver Acagallery-pinewoodentranceday_smalldemy as an option for after A levels. I have always been interested in the film industry but never decided what job role I wanted to be until I was in the school production ‘We Will Rock You’. An A level student at the time was doing the main characters makeup using special effects makeup and it really inspired me. From that moment onwards I started buying products and watching tutorials and I found myself discovering what I wanted to be when I’m older.

The open day assured me that this is what I wanted to do and I decided this was definitely where I wanted to go after school. However as I’m only sixteen I can’t take part in the course yet as you have to be eighteen. However they asked me if I wanted to volunteer as a model for the students to practice on as it’s a great experience and it allows me to learn more about the industry. I officially started last Saturday and it was amazing! I learnt more about the industry and the various different job roles included. I was also told some personal experiences when working on sets and how to put yourself out there when finding work even if it doesn’t include payment. The theme at the beginning was 1940’s which then transitioned into a bomb explosion which really intrigued me. I will continue to model at Pinewood and document my experiences.

Leave a comment